The word yoga means "union" in Sanskrit, the language of ancient India where yoga originated. We can think of the union occurring between the mind, body and spirit.

What is commonly referred to as "yoga" can be more accurately described by the Sanskrit word asana, which refers to the practice of physical postures or poses.

Asana is only one of the eight "limbs" of yoga, the majority of which are more concerned with mental and spiritual well-being than physical activity. In the West, however, the words asana and yoga are often used interchangeably.

Asanas in Yoga

Sequences of asanas, designed to align your skin, muscles, and bones. It is also designed to open the many channels of the body especially the main channel, the spine so that energy can flow freely.

Asanas is also translated as ha meaning "sun" and tha meaning "moon." This refers to the balance of masculine aspects-active, hot, sun and feminine aspects-receptive, cool, moon - within all of us. Hatha yoga is a path toward creating balance and uniting opposites. In our physical bodies we develop a balance of strength and flexibility. We also learn to balance our effort and surrender in each pose.

Asanas in yoga is a powerful tool for self-transformation. It asks us to bring our attention to our breath, which helps us to still the fluctuations of the mind and be more present in the unfolding of each moment.

Postures & Breathing Exercises

Pranayama Breathing (Standing Deep Breathing)

  • Good for the lungs and respiratory system
  • Helps lungs reach their maximum expansion capacity
  • Alleviates and prevents asthma, shortness of breath and nervousness
  • Oxygenates the blood, to increase the efficacy of all the following postures

1) Ardha-Chandrasana (Half-Moon Pose)

  • Heats up the body and starts the cardiovascular work
  • Stretches the spine in all four directions, waking up the central nervous system and loosening muscles throughout the body
  • Builds muscles that support the spine and opens the hips and shoulders, improving posture and skeletal alignment and relieving chronic back pain
  • Trims and shapes the waist-line

2) Pada-Hastasana (Hands to Feet)

  • Improves flexibility and restores elasticity of the spine
  • Aids in the flow of blood to the brain
  • Stretches entire backside of body, especially muscles and ligaments of the legs (hamstrings) and lower back

3) Utkatasana (Awkward Pose)

  • Strengthens major muscle groups in the body: arms, legs, stomach, back and heart
  • Builds proper alignment in the knees, ankles, hips, and shoulders
  • Develops tremendous concentration and strength of will

4) Garurasana (Eagle Pose)

  • Improves mobility in the pelvic girdle and all 14 major joints (ankles, knees, hips, shoulders, scapulae, elbows and wrists)
  • Increases circulation to the heart and lungs, digestive system and sexual organs
  • Flushes the lymph nodes, boosting the immune system
  • Stimulates the transfer of serum calcium into the bones, preventing osteoperosis

5) Dandayamana-Janushirasana (Standing Head to Knee Pose)

  • Develops concentration, determination, patience and balance
  • Strengthens legs and abdomen
  • Increases the flexibility of the hamstrings, sciatic nerves and lower back

6) Dandayamana-Dhanurasana (Standing Bow Pulling Pose)

  • Increases circulation to the heart and lungs
  • Improves elasticity of the spine, hips and legs
  • Promotes grace and willpower and cultivates a strong mind-body connection



Yoga - Self Motivation, Improved Personality, Helthy Lifestyle.

Yoga practicing makes you an yogi who is able to live in this material world, enjoy all the pleasures and exercise self control. Self motivation is necessary and a good guide can bring about drastic changes in your personality.